31 Day Organizational Challenge – Final Reveal

31-Day-340px-Border

1. What space did you decide to organize and why? I chose the front bedroom to organize because it was absolutely the worst room in my house. When I moved in November 2011 I lost the luxury of having an out building for storage & I didn’t realize the gravity of the situation until everything was at the new house which left me not very much room. I did a large purge – I think I went from 20+ totes down to 12 but that’s still a lot of totes not to mention boxes. The front room became an absolute dumping ground for items that had no specific destination. After reading about this challenge I knew it was time to stop dragging my feet & whip it into a room where I didn’t feel the need to keep the door shut constantly.

2. What steps did you take to ensure you completed the space within the 31 day timeline? I setup a timeframe of what I would like to have accomplished each week instead of each day that way I didn’t feel like a failure if I had a lazy day or 2 during that week, as long as things still got accomplished by the end of the week.

3. What was the hardest part of the challenge for you and how did you overcome it? Finding the motivation to actually tackle the room initially was a bit of a challenge. I’m a great planner & list maker but when it comes to actions I can be quite the procrastinator. Definitely something I need to work on! It helped having the link-up’s listed because I felt accountable to have some progress to show for myself. After getting started though, my momentum began to build & now I’m ready to start purging & organizing the rest of my house. I may have created a monster, but I think I like it!

4. What did you do with the “stuff” you were able to purge out of your newly organized space? There was quite a bit of trash (more than I’d like to admit) of stuff that just needed sorted through & tossed that I never took the time to do. It felt good to finally get rid of junk that was just taking up space. There was also a lot of clothes, toys, etc that were just stored in there that basically I no longer have a need for. Instead of tossing them though I took them to a friend’s house to let her sort through & pass on what she didn’t want. There was also the bunk bed that a friend took & I was more than happy to get rid of as it was just sitting & collecting dust. I was happy to give away much more than I threw away :)

5. Tell me one of your proudest moments during this challenge? Let there be carpet! I was very happy & felt that sense of accomplishment when I could see not just carpet but several feet of carpet! Stuff had been strewn about that room in such a mess it should have been embarrassing but it honestly served as great motivation to get that room in order & now I never want it to look that way again.

6. Explain any organizing “tools” you used to help you create additional space and to establish some limits and boundaries? I had some empty totes (which will be my tools) that I’d been storing in that room as I never throw totes out because I can always find something to use them for later or when I do a purge of clothes or other items it’s convenient to take the items to the next destination in totes. However there was plenty of work those totes could be doing yet they were just setting there empty in the floor. I think I ended up using 2 or 3 of them in the black stand to corral some of the randomness of that stand. It not only organized some items on the stand but it also freed up quite a bit of floor space that the empty totes were taking up which gave me even more carpet!

7. What is ONE piece of organizing advice you’ve learned on this journey that you could encourage someone else with? I’ve read it before & realized the pure geniousness of it but never put it into play but I will now. Set up boundaries for yourself! Choose a tote, basket, etc for certain things that will be your limit of what you keep. Or choose it to be a holding area for a certain time frame of items that you aren’t sure of & if it’s not used by that deadline – get it out of your house asap! My problem is keeping items until “one day” or waiting to use them “some day” & then they just end up taking up space not being used & sitting in an empty room when someone else could be putting them to use. Just because it’s still in good condition doesn’t mean I have to hang onto it. I won’t throw it out, but I’ll definitely be passing along more items quicker than I used to.

20130401-182152.jpg

20130401-182205.jpg

20130401-182216.jpg

I’m obviously still not done – but I need to sell the mattress before I can get it out of there & my out building will hopefully be built sometime early spring which will also store some other items from this room. I’m really excited to continue working on it & the rest of the house & can’t wait to do even more before & afters. Wish me luck!

-jess

11 thoughts on “31 Day Organizational Challenge – Final Reveal

    • Thanks. Yes having the large items in there waiting to sell didn’t help, but at least it’s organized now instead of everything just strewn about. I definitely plan to keep doing before & afters because I feel that they keep me motivated so stay stuned!

  1. Pingback: Excellent Organizing Advice from Challenge Participants

Leave a Reply

