Bathroom Organizing

When I’m reading DIY or organizing blogs I notice how sometimes they have the “after” pictures but not the “before” & they say how they wish they would’ve thought to stop & take a “before” so they could show the changes. I used to laugh at that & think I’ll never get that caught up in organizing that it would’ve been worth taking a “before” picture but now I find myself there & I love it! I hate that I forget the “before” picture because it does make the impact of the “after” that much better, but I do love getting that into organizing.
 
I moved into my house November 2011 & it had previously been my pawpaw’s house. Old men don’t do updates much less keep things clean so I don’t even want to tell you what kind of slate I had to start with. I’m pretty sure that almost everything in the house (except a few things my dad had bought him over the years) was still the same things my mawmaw had picked out YEARS ago. Let me be more specific – when I say years I mean she passed away when I was 5 & I’m 27 now so most things are AT LEAST 22 years old. & yes I mean carpet, curtains – all of it! I loved my mawmaw dearly & miss her more than I could ever express & I will always think the world of her, but I have to admit our decorating styles are very different. Not to mention you’d have to factor in trends changing & such but that’s besides the point lol
 
The reason I gave that little background was because my most recent organizing spurt happened in the bathroom. When I moved in my bathroom consisted of a shower, toilet, medicine cabinet & a sink on a VERY small vanity. I’m talking the entire thing is maybe a foot wide which left me hmm about no room underneath for storage. I ended up putting a couple cabinets from Target in there that I already had from where I’d lived before & using them for storage. While I love Target dearly, I’d had the cabinets for several years already & lo & behold one of the doors recently broke off. I didn’t want that junky looking cabinet with only 1 door in my bathroom & I’d already been toying with the idea to move it into the laundry room so it seemed like a sign. After doing a switcheroo of moving the laundry baskets to the bathroom & that broken door cabinet to the laundry room I realized something. When you put short laundry baskets where tall cabinets used to be you discover bad paint ideas that you had thought would be a good idea when you first moved in. All I could do was laugh though because I’d forgotten about the time when I thought I wanted to paint the bottom half of my bathroom walls green. Oops. I’ll figure something out for it later because I have many ideas in my head for what I want to do to the bathroom as far as remodel but that’s for another day. Here’s the current view that’s front & center when you’re popping a squat.

So anyway I go from 2 cabinets down to 1 & I figure it’s a good idea to empty all the cabinets to sort & purge stuff I’d long forgotten about. I can’t tell you how good it felt to purge a lot of junk & get the cabinet more organized that it had ever been – even when I had 2 cabinets in there, they weren’t nearly this organized. Of course, I got so wrapped up in it I didn’t get the “before” picture but I do have a lovely “after” that makes me happy. Sorry for the crappy iPhone picture quality – it’s one thing that’s always handy & not ever far from me.

 

Leave a Reply

